Burglary, Robbery & Theft
Denver Criminal Defense Attorney Jared Benson Can Help
Fighting Robbery, Theft & Burglary Charges
Property crimes like robbery, theft and burglary can result in serious penalties, some of which may have lifelong consequences. As a result, having a strong defense against these charges is crucial to not only the outcome of a property crimes case but also to the future of the accused individual. Since 2007, the Denver defense lawyers at the Law Office of Jarrett Benson have been providing those accused of various types of property crimes with the strongest possible defense. Our lawyers understand how prosecutors build their cases, making us effective at going up against them in any legal setting. If you or someone you love has been charged with a property crime, let our attorneys put their experience and insight to work defending you and helping you successfully resolve your case.
Colorado Robbery Charges & Potential Penalties
In Colorado, robbery is classified as either:
- Simple robbery, which occurs when threats, intimidation or force are used to deprive someone of something of value – Simple robbery is a Class 4 felony in Colorado, making it punishable by up to 12 years in prison.
- Aggravated or armed robbery, which involves the elements of simple robbery, as well as the use of a deadly weapon at some point during the offense – Aggravated robbery, which is considered to be a violent crime, is a Class 3 felony in Colorado, making it punishable by up to 32 years in prison.
Colorado Theft Charges & Potential Penalties
Theft charges are generally filed when someone is accused of taking something of value from someone else in order to “permanently deprive the other person” of the item. The value of the item allegedly stolen will usually dictate the severity of theft charges filed, which can be:
- Class 3 misdemeanor theft charges when the item is valued at less than $100 – These charges can be punishable by up to 6 months in jail and up to $750 in fines.
- Class 2 misdemeanor theft charges when the item is valued at $100 to $499.99 – These charges can be punishable by up to 12 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
- Class 1 misdemeanor theft charges when the item is valued at $500 to $999.99 – These charges can be punishable by up to 18 months in jail and up to $5,000 in fines.
- Class 4 felony theft charges when the item is valued at $1,000 to $19,999.99 – These charges can be punishable by up to 6 years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines.
- Class 3 felony theft charges when the item is valued at $20,000 or more –These charges can be punishable by up to 12 years in prison and up to $750,000 in fines.
If, however, the item is allegedly stolen off a person’s body (such as in the case of pickpocketing, for instance), Class 5 felony theft charges can be filed regardless of the value of the item(s) allegedly taken.
Colorado Burglary Charges & Potential Penalties
Burglary charges in Colorado are classified and filed as follows:
- First-degree burglary, which occurs when someone knowingly and illegally enters a building in order to commit some crime against the occupants of the building and/or the property and when, at any point during the alleged offense, the accused was armed with a deadly weapon and/or threatened or harmed anyone – First-degree burglary is typically a Class 3 felony in Colorado, unless the intent was to steal a controlled substance, in which case it can be a Class 2 felony.
- Second-degree burglary, which involves all of the elements of a first-degree burglary except that it does not involve the use of a deadly weapon nor the infliction of threats or harm to anyone else – Second-degree burglary is usually a Class 4 felony in Colorado, unless the offense involves the intent to steal a controlled substance or entering a residence, in which case it can be a Class 3 felony.
- Third-degree burglary, which occurs when a person breaks into a locked container intending to commit a crime – Usually classified as a Class 5 felony, third-degree burglary can be filed as a Class 4 felony if the alleged offense involved the intent to steal a controlled substance.
Get Your Defense Started Now: Contact a Denver Theft Attorney at the Law Office of Jarrett Benson
If you are facing any property crimes charges, contact an experienced Denver theft attorney at the Law Office of Jarrett Benson for the strongest defense. To learn more about your best defense options, as well as how we can assist you, call us at (720) 730-3345 or email our firm via the contact form to set up an initial consultation with one of our attorneys. From our offices in Denver, our criminal defense attorneys provide the highest quality legal services to people throughout the Denver metro area, Arapahoe County, Weld County, Douglas County, and the state of Colorado.
Contact Jarrett Benson Today
Request a Free Consultation
Criminal charges, car accidents, and divorce can have devastating, lifelong consequences. You need an experienced attorney and advocate on your side. During the free, confidential consultation, Mr. Benson will answer any questions you have about your legal matter and discuss potential legal recourse and strategies.
The clock may already be ticking. Don’t wait any longer. Contact us today to secure your rights and future.