Colorado Shoplifting Charges & Potential Penalties
Shoplifting charges can be filed when someone is accused of stealing an item from a retail setting, switches the price tags on items (to attempt to pay less) or fails to pay after eating a meal.
While shoplifting charges can range in severity, regardless of the specific charge filed, having an experienced attorney helping you defend your rights will be pivotal to resolving these charges as favorably and efficiently as possible.
At the Law Office of Jarrett Benson, our Denver theft & shoplifting lawyers are skilled at defending people against various types of theft charges. Dedicated to protecting the rights of the accused, our lawyers are ready to put their knowledge, skills and experience to work defending you so you can obtain the best outcome to your case and move on with your life.
Types of Shoplifting Charges in Colorado
As with theft charges in Colorado, shoplifting charges are generally classified and filed based on the value of the items allegedly stolen from a retailer. Specifically, Colorado shoplifting charges can be filed as follows:
- Class 2 misdemeanor theft charges when the item is valued at $100 to $499.99 – These charges can be punishable by up to 12 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
- Class 1 misdemeanor theft charges when the item is valued at $500 to $999.99 – These charges can be punishable by up to 18 months in jail and up to $5,000 in fines.
- Class 4 felony theft charges when the item is valued at $1,000 to $19,999.99 – These charges can be punishable by up to 6 years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines.
- Class 3 felony theft charges when the item is valued at $20,000 or more –These charges can be punishable by up to 12 years in prison and up to $750,000 in fines.
In the event someone is accused of tampering with anti-theft devices, Class 1 misdemeanor charges can also be filed, which can be punishable by up to 6 months in jail and up to $750 in fines.
Shoplifting Cases: More Important Info
- Retailers have to follow certain rules in order to have a shoplifting case – In fact, retailers must have witnessed the accused person taking and concealing an item and leaving the store with it. Additionally, they have to wait to approach the suspect until after (s)he has left the store. If these steps are not followed, it can be very difficult for them to win shoplifting cases.
- Diversion programs may be a possibility for first offenders or petty theft cases – When a person is accused of shoplifting for the first time and/or the offense is relatively petty, it may be possible to make deals with prosecutors involving them dropping the charges in exchange for some community service, the completion of diversion programs, etc.
- Retaining a lawyer is necessary when you need a strong defense – Having a shoplifting conviction on your record can haunt you for years to come, potentially costing you career opportunities, etc. To minimize your chances of conviction and protect your future, it is crucial that the accused retain a lawyer ASAP so they can start building the strongest defense.
Contact a Denver Theft Attorney at the Law Office of Jarrett Benson
Have you been charged with shoplifting or any type of theft charge? If so, contact an experienced Denver theft attorney at the Law Office of Jarrett Benson for the best defense representation. Since 2007, our lawyers have been aggressively defending the rights of the accused in any legal setting while providing them personalized legal service. Because your future depends on the outcome of your theft case, contact us today to get the strongest defense.
To learn more about your best defense options, as well as how we can assist you, call us at (720) 402-9627 or email our firm via the contact form to set up an initial consultation with one of our attorneys. From our offices in Denver, our criminal defense attorneys provide the highest quality legal services to people throughout the Denver metro area, Arapahoe County, Weld County, Douglas County, and the state of Colorado.