Denver Assault Lawyer
Colorado Assault Charges & Penalties
Assault charges are filed against people accused of intentionally and recklessly causing physical harm to another person. While Colorado assault charges can vary in severity, according to circumstances of a case, assault is generally considered to be an extraordinary risk crime in Colorado.
This means that:
- Assault is among the crimes that are considered to pose an extra risk to human life, safety or health; and
- Consequently, assault charges can come with some harsher penalties in the event of a conviction.
At the Law Office of Jarrett Benson, our Denver assault lawyers understand that people can be wrongly accused of assault and other crimes and that having the best defense in these situations will be critical to clearing their good names.
Our attorneys have extensive experience defending people against various types of assault charges, and they are ready to put their knowledge, skills and resources to work building you the strongest assault defense.
First-Degree Assault Charges & Potential Penalties
As the most serious level of assault charges, first-degree assault charges are generally filed when someone is accused of:
- Knowingly causing another person serious bodily injury via the use of a deadly weapon
- Intentionally doing something that caused a serious risk of death to someone else and, in doing so, seriously injured them
- Intentionally disfiguring or disabling another person
- Threatening law enforcement officers, judges, firefighters or prison staff with a deadly weapon and, in doing so, causing them a serious injury.
First-degree assault in Colorado is a Class 3 felony, which means that, in the event of conviction, these charges can be punishable by:
- Between 8 and 24 years in prison
- Up to $750,000 in court fines
Second-Degree Assault Charges & Potential Penalties
The next most serious level of assault charges in Colorado are second-degree assault charges, which can be filed against someone accused of:
- Knowingly or recklessly injuring someone with a deadly weapon
- Intentionally using drugs or other substances to injure or mentally impair someone
- Injuring someone else by preventing a law enforcement official or firefighter from performing their job.
Second-degree assault charges in Colorado are Class 4 felonies, meaning they can be punishable by the following in the event of a conviction:
- Between 4 and 12 years in prison
- Up to $500,000 in fines
Third-Degree Assault Charges & Potential Penalties
Third-degree assault charges are usually filed against people accused of “knowingly or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person.” Although third-degree assault charges are the least serious level of these charges in Colorado, they can still come with some harsh penalties in the event of conviction. Specifically, third-degree assault in Colorado, which is a Class 1 misdemeanor, can be punishable by up to two years in jail.
Contact a Denver Assault Attorney at the Law Office of Jarrett Benson for the Best Defense
If you or someone you love has been charged with assault in Colorado, contact an experienced Denver assault attorney at the Law Office of Jarrett Benson for the best defense representation. There can be a number of ways to defend you against assault charges (including possibly arguing for self-defense or heat of passion), and the sooner you get your defense started, the stronger your case will likely be.
To learn more about your best defense options, as well as how we can assist you, call us at (720) 402-9627 or email our firm via the contact form to set up an initial consultation with one of our attorneys. From our offices in Denver, our criminal defense attorneys provide the highest quality legal services to people throughout the Denver metro area, Arapahoe County, Weld County, Douglas County, and the state of Colorado.